Lendal kinetic wing preview

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Douglas Wilcox

Lendal kinetic wing preview

Post by Douglas Wilcox » Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:09 am

Been fortunate to get my hands on a set of these beauties!

I have used it 2 days on the Solway, 2 on the Clyde and 1 on Loch Moidart/Sound of Arisaig, all calm unfortunately. My first imprsession is what an effortless paddle it is to use all day, it seems to encourage good paddling technique. I found some manouvering strokes and high bracing, if you need to sweep the trailing edge forward difficult.

It has also been used by beginners, 4*, 5* and 4*coaches. Apart from one 4* paddler, all loved it.

Watch out for a full "Joe Bloggs" or "man in the street" review in the next Paddles mag.

Douglas:o)

Ali Denny

Lendal kinetic wings

Post by Ali Denny » Thu Oct 21, 2004 6:24 pm

I've been using the kinetic wings for about 18 months (I had a pre production trail set) and they have been used on the sea, surf, whitewater and K1 racing and training.
Agree that they encourage good paddling technique without going to full wings.
You generally have to play about with the blade angle for best effect in fact I change the angle depending on the conditions (shallower in windier conditions) as you tend to lower your paddling technique.
Certainly the best paddles I've had in 25 years !

Mark R

Post by Mark R » Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:39 pm

Hmm, nice but are they really necessary on the sea?

What can they do that a decent set of standard assymetrics can't?

Interested to hear...

Cheers,
Mark Rainsley
FACEBOOK

Douglas Wilcox

Kinetik wing

Post by Douglas Wilcox » Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:22 pm

Wait till you try it, different league, going from carbon composite Nordkapps to these was like going from a poly to a glass boat. Out of 11 people who have tried this demo pair, 10 want one.
Douglas

Mark R

Post by Mark R » Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:03 pm

Do they...

...catch the wind more?
...make bracing strokes tricky?