Trip ideas for Bute/Cumbrae/Largs area??

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Gavin74

Trip ideas for Bute/Cumbrae/Largs area??

Post by Gavin74 » Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:51 am

Does anyone have any advice/information on what I can expect paddling in the bute area.

I'm fairly new to sea kayaking, this being my first season with my own sea boat! So far we've
spent most of our weekends exploring waters we're familiar with (trips to the Tudwals, Rhoscolyn, Morfa Nefyn, etc).

Now I'm interested in organising a trip in the Bute/Largs/Cumbrae area. The whole of Bute seems perfect for paddling, but especially the north tip (Burnt Islands) and the south west coast and tip.......st Ninians bay/Scalpsie bay down to Garroch head and around into Kilchattan bay. Also the Cumbrae Islands look pretty interesting.

However, when it comes to going further a field I'm a bit cautious, before I start buying charts etc for the Largs area I'm trying to figure out if this area offers the "early intermediate" enough easy uncomplicated paddling (no strong tidal races/overfalls etc).

As with all things, the weather makes the biggest difference as to whether it is suitable or not. But if any one has ideas for straight forward day or multi day paddles in this area that would be appreciated, also any advice on tide strength, areas to avoid etc would gratefully received. Any advice would be great and would hopefully mean I don't waste money on charts for an area out of my league!

Thanks

Gavin

ps We're not total muppets so no need to call the cost guard, we have the right safety gear, had some coaching at ASSC and have spent the last 4 months paddling/scaring ourselves in North Wales. Thanks to those who manage this site, its full of useful bits and bobs for those new to the sport.

MikeB

Post by MikeB » Tue Aug 17, 2004 3:09 pm

Hi Gavin - welcome - the Largs/Bute/Cumbrae area is a really good choice to expand your paddlign horizons!