Greenland paddles

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
ems

Greenland paddles

Post by ems » Sat Dec 20, 2003 11:02 pm

I have recently read about greenland paddles, and I am attracted to them for the claims made in their favour.

For instance (no connection)
www.glenburn.care4free.net/index.htm

They are supposed to be easier to paddle, less tiring, easier to perform a roll - and they look so good!

However, I have no experience using them, and I wonder how easy it would be to make the switch after years of using 'normal' feathered paddles.

Has anyone got had the experience of making the switch, and have they found that the benefits are indeed real.
Also do people interchange freely between both types of paddles or stick to the one kind.

I would be glad to read your views.

Thanks

Ems

Also, Mark - great site and keep it up

MikeB

G/land Paddles

Post by MikeB » Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:28 am

Well, there is a chap (name of Nigel) from Cumbria who seems to be able to transition easily from a Greenland to a "normal" feathered paddle and back again easily enough, based on what I saw on an SCA trip in the summer.

(If I can locate an email addy I'll pm him or maybe he'll see this and reply anyway).

He also makes the boat move along very nicely indeed using the G/lands!

Mike.

Richard Best

Re: G/land Paddles

Post by Richard Best » Wed Dec 24, 2003 2:09 am

I switched to using a Greenland paddle just over a year ago after Ryanair "lost" my Lendal. I was short of funds, and decided to make a paddle from a piece of cedar I bought for about £15.

Paddling with it was very interesting... It took quite a few short trips in calm conditions before I started to feel comfortable with it, but soon it felt completely normal. I use it all the time, and now find the "normal" feathered blades very difficult to use.