Hints, Tips & Wrinkles

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
sub5rider

Hints, Tips & Wrinkles

Post by sub5rider » Mon Mar 24, 2003 11:19 am

OK, I'm a newby to this sea-boating/wild camping lark.

What do you know now, that you wish you'd known when you started ?

I used to wild camp a lot >25 years ago and, for instance, would regularly drink unfiltered/treated water from becks - is this still safe, given the exploitation of "wilderness" areas for leisure pursuits?

Oh, Sue, if you keep falling out of your Orion, try carrying a full 65ltr drybag between your knees - concentrates the mind wonderfully!

Jim

Re: Hints, Tips & Wrinkles

Post by Jim » Mon Mar 24, 2003 2:09 pm

I'm relatively new to doing it in a sea kayak for a week, I still find I take too much gear!

On the islands water supplies shouldn't be too bad, especially early in the year when few others have been before, I would be more suspicious around the mainland. It is probably easier than you'd expect to blag tap water as not much of Scotland is really remote, but I carry puritabs as a backup and make a point of saving tap water for drinking and using stream water for cooking where possible (cooking stuff that uses boiling water, technically you need a 20 minute rolling boil to kill stuff but I don't have that much patience). I wash up in sea water, although it makes a mess of non-stick pans :-(

As for kit, you need to take a minimum, but take the warmest stuff you own! You won't be sleeping in your boating kit, and you'll want to take it off before entering the tent (bivi in my case), so you need a set of "land" clothes - thermals mostly! You'll also want waterproofs for being ashore, because in Scotland at least it is raining for most of your dry time....