Bivi bags and minimalist camping^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
ol

Bivi bags and minimalist camping^

Post by ol » Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:04 pm

I have a few items of kit to buy for forthcoming trips and wanted to get some advice from a few folk before I go spending money on things I have little experience of.

The intention is to be self-contained in my Whitewater boat (not sea kayak but thought there may be more sea paddlers with bivi experience) and be able to sleep out on whatever terrain we encounter near the riverside.

I have zero experience with Bivi bags but from a bit of reading have gathered that I need a bag mostly to be waterproof and also breathable, it also must obviously be as light as possible. A couple I have looked at so far include:

Alpkit Hunka
A cheap and cheerful bag, perhaps suited for me who may not use a bivi too often once back in Blighty. My only concern is the lack of complete closure with this bag. This would be bad in rain, and would also allow man-eating bugs to eat me alive and generally share my bed....Is there anything I could rig up to get around this such as a mozzie head-net etc?

The next I am looking at is:

Mountain Equipment Ion Bivi
A nice light bivi which has full enclosure but does not have a very high waterproof rating.

Next is a:

Mountain Equipment Borealis
This is similar to the Ion but has a much better spec including waterproofing, but it is obviously a bit pricey for a casual user maybe.

A:

Vango Force Ten Alpine Bivi Bag
Again, a bit pricey for me but looks pretty good.

and finally(yawn):

Vaude Bivi tent