Towline & Clamcleat^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
MikeD

Towline & Clamcleat^

Post by MikeD » Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:29 pm

I am in the process of mounting a towline onto my Quest LV, and have read the discussions & articles here on the site (Thanks Mike Buckley et al...) and would like to hear your opinions on the placement of the Clamcleat: Should it be as close to the cockpit as possible:

or further back:

Also, is it a good idea to strengthen the deck of the kayak before mounting the Clamcleat & Fairlead ?

Thanks

Mike

Cornholio

Post by Cornholio » Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:21 pm

Hi Mike- I'm no expert but in the first picture the cleat and bullseye look too far forward. It might be too close to you/cag/BA/movement and be dislodged(the bullseye is also way off centre...got experience there (and a ribbing for 2mm out!!)). The second picture looks better but I'd probably put it further back on the boat still- just make sure you can reach it ok. I posted requesting advice about fitting to a plastic boat, not sure if strengthening a composite is a must but it'd be peace of mind anyway- just ensure whatever material you use to distribute the load doesn't deform or damage the boat internally on any curved areas.
I'll try and post a link to the picture I got on Ebay- it's the one I used as a template for my Capella.
Suppose the bulkhead positioning on the Quest will dictate positioning also.
PS- what type/make of cleat is that?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... &rd=1&rd=1[/img]
"God tells me he can get me out of this mess, but he's pretty sure you're f****d..."

MikeD

Post by MikeD » Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:14 pm

Hi Cornholio,
thanks for the reply. This is exactly why I posted, I thought that having the cleat as close to the body as possible would be an advantage, but I can also see the logic in it being too close and possibly getting tangled with a cag.