Hand Held VHF wattage

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Post Reply
Mickkee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:55 pm

Hand Held VHF wattage

Post by Mickkee » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:04 am

Hi all..
I use a hand held dsc with GPS (Yes before asking it is licenced to ofcom) pre set on international use when on channel 16 it automatically goes to 6 watts and other channels goes to 1 watt. I can manually change this to 1 watt on channel 16 but will always go back to 6 watts when turned on and off.
Going back to when I got my short range licence I'm sure I was always taught to use 1 watt on channel 16??
Does any one elses radio do this or am I wrong to think 1 watt on channel 16
I use a cobra hh600

Thanks
Ollie

andynormancx
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Hand Held VHF wattage

Post by andynormancx » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:18 am

I was certainly not told to use low power on channel 16 when I did my SRC last year.

Maybe someone was getting mixed up with the guard channels each side of channel 16, where you are supposed to use max 1 watt to reduce the possibility of interfering with transmissions on the much more important channel 16 ?

Channels 15 and 17 at 156.750/156.850 MHz (channel 16 is on 156.800MHz) are internationally restricted to 1 watt (and all the marine radios I've used won't let you switch to high power on those channels).

If you are going to be making an emergency call, it is going to be on channel 16 and at that point you are going to want as much power as possible. Most people are not going to remember to switch to high power at that point.

The ICOM and Standard Horizon handhelds that I have used all switch to high power when you switch to channel 16, if you were on low power on another channel.

andynormancx
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Hand Held VHF wattage

Post by andynormancx » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:24 am

And before anyone else mentions it, there are other channels even closer to 16, that are also restricted to 1 watt.

75 and 76 are on 156.775/156.825.

Mickkee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:55 pm

Re: Hand Held VHF wattage

Post by Mickkee » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:35 am

Thanks for your reply.

Ok that does make perfect sence..
I haven't had this radio long and my old radio didn't do this.. used to stay on 1 watt so it made me question it.. I didn't want to me making a radio call and wiping every one else out so thought i should ask first 😳
Ollie

User avatar
PhilAyr
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:51 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Hand Held VHF wattage

Post by PhilAyr » Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:44 am

I think it depends on the manufacturer. As well as an icom I have an Entel handheld. On the Entel if you switch to low power on 16, it will stay on low power (even when switched off) until you switch back to high power.

With the Entel ch 15 and 17 are locked on low power, interestingly I can't get ch 75 and 76.

Phil

andynormancx
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Hand Held VHF wattage

Post by andynormancx » Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:10 pm

Channels 75/76 (and quite a few others) didn't used to exist. The spacing between the marine channels was originally 50 kHz.

When radios go better, it was decided that a 50 kHz gap between channels was more than was needed. So they cut the gap down to 25 kHz and added loads of new channels, including 75 and 76, in the gaps between the existing 50 kHz spaced channels.

Some older design radios won't have the 25 kHz spaced channels from 60 upwards.

There was another change in 2017 to add more channels. This time rather than changing the spacing they made some of the old duplex channels simplex and reused the shore side of the duplex channels to be new extra simplex channels. They have slight odd numbers:

1019, 2019, 1020, 2020, 1078, 2078, 1079, and 2079 (the second two digits is the number of the duplex channel they were made up from)

https://www.yachtsandyachting.com/news/ ... nnel-Usage

You have to have a pretty recent radio to see those channels (or a radio that support reprogramming to add them), my Standard Horizon HX300 does have them.

However, to my knowledge the UK authorities haven't decided what to do with the new channels and I don't think technically we are allowed to use them. It seems like they are more likely to be licenced for commercial use than being permitted for general marine use.

Post Reply