Talking 'Base Layers'^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
jayno55

Talking 'Base Layers'^

Post by jayno55 » Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:25 pm

Ok, I have my rash vest and polyester shirt (or whatever it is) to wear when I'm out in my Gul neoprene longjohn, but .. now we're the colder weather is coming, plus I'm a novice starting to move from inland paddling towards estuary and coastal options so I've recently bought a Kokatat TecTour.

After getting good advice from all sorts of folk I bought a long-sleeved Chillcheater Transpire polo top to wear under the TecTour, but boy is that garment warm! In this shoulder-season weather I find it's too warm. I reckon it might work as a base layer in colder weather, or maybe as a mid layer if I ever get the urge to paddle near antartica.

So now I'm wondering what else to get that I can use as a true base layer (what some call the "inner core" layer) that is not so 'hot' as the Transpire? I still want some warmth, but lightness and lots of breathability, and NO itchiness (no, not even the hint of itchiness thankyou, I just can't hack it!).

This has to be a garment I can use on its own, without passing out, under the TecTour.

Advice ladies and gentlemen please?

jayno

ps: I have got a super-thin merino wool top that I thought might do the job but I have had diametrically opposite advice (!) about the merit of wearing merino for kayaking from two highly respected names in our retail network (not going to name them), so I'm widening my search for options now.

MikeB

Post by MikeB » Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:46 pm

Well, all I can tell you is that wool is supposed to be the biz, but, having managed to forget my thermal set last Easter I found myself wandering around M&S looking for thermal goodies and ended up with what was described as some sort of base layer for wear under ski kit!