Sea kayaking paddle buddies wanted Kent.

Hook up with other paddlers
chemicalali

Post by chemicalali » Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:11 pm

Any one fancy going for a paddle somewhere around Kent tomorow? Or if not tomorow some time soon. I was thinking Hythe / Sandgate area but willing to travel further.

Alex

T4Mac

Re: Sea kayaking paddle buddies wanted Kent.

Post by T4Mac » Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:03 pm

I'm in thanet currently on the hunt for a touring/sea kayak (sit in). Be happy to catch up when I have one.

If anyone around the kent coast has a PH Delphin 155, Tahe Reval HV, Valley Aquanaught HV or Tsunami 145 I could have a test drive in it would be much appreciated. For info my background is Perception Carolina 14 before fishing a Perception Triumph the last couple of years.

The boats mentioned above are what I think might fit me after some research. I am 5' 10" 17stone so I you have something I have not considered I would be open to suggestions. Many Thanks Mac

chemicalali

Post by chemicalali » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:39 am

sounds like we're coming from the same place. I've been mad about kayak fishing of a sit on top for the last 10 years, but got the bug for proper sea kayaking fairly recently, it's much more fun when the fishing's rubbish.

I've done a bit and learned the basic rescues etc, I did the 3* sea training with a club but never fancied paying for an assessment. Just got a proper sea kayak (rockpool alaw Bach) and love paddling it, but don't dare do any of the fun stuff in it because I'm by myself and my roll isn't reliable enough that I dare take any risks unaccompanied.

If you fancy meeting up for a mess about session / swapping kayaks and trying out what we can get away with in them I'm up for it. I'm the same height as you but 11 stone, and my kayak sits high in the water (handles fine tho) I reckon it would handle even better with some ballast or a heavier paddler, so might be a kayak that should be on your list of ones to try.

Sickboy