P&H Scorpio spray deck

Discuss equipment, technology, gadgets, repairs...
openeyes

P&H Scorpio spray deck

Post by openeyes » Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:11 am

Hi newbie here so be easy on me, I'm looking for a spray deck for my Scorpio Kayak, any recommendations as I'm also a large lad at 18stone.:)

seawolf856

Re: P&H Scorpio spray deck

Post by seawolf856 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:56 pm

Hi openeyes, welcome to the forum. We don't eat newbies for breakfast here, this is the best place on the planet for help and ideas, so keep visiting.

As with all bits of paddling kit, you will soon learn that it invariably comes down to personal preference, so based on my own personal preference I would recommend you take a look at the Pyranha range. As you are sea kayaking I would recommend a full neoprene deck with neoprene body tube. I'm a big lad too but they do sizes to fit me. A nice taught deck will stop pooling of spray. Lightweight spray decks may seem easier to fit but once you are past your newbie stage, you will appreciate the better fit. If you are particular about it being lightweight (but why would you be?) then Reed do a very nice range too in a lighter thickness material, not my cup of tea but I know many fans of Reed gear.
My deck has elastic lines attached which I use to hold my map case, again this is personal preference as some folk will say they get in the way and can snag on re-entry.
Don't bother with braces, the deck tube should really be fitting under the skirt on your paddling top or drysuit anyway, so braces are a waste of time.

Good luck with your selection and enjoy your Scorpio - nice boat choice.

charleston14

Post by charleston14 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:11 pm