DSLR camera bag??

Discuss equipment, technology, gadgets, repairs...
Confused Chimp

DSLR camera bag??

Post by Confused Chimp » Fri May 05, 2017 4:52 pm

Hi All,
I'm hoping I can draw on the collective knowledge of the community.

I'm looking for recommendations for a waterproof DSLR camera bag to take sea kayaking on the fjords in Norway.
I'm taking a trip for the first time and I've never been sea kayaking so I've no experience to draw on.

I'm looking for a bag that can be attached to me (whilst wearing buoyancy aid etc or attached to the kayak.

I want it to be easily enough to have the camera accessible whilst I'm on the water and completely waterproof when sealed invade I capsize.

I've been looking at Watershed Ocoee. But just looking for recommendations??
Many thanks
CC

frankt377

Re: DSLR camera bag??

Post by frankt377 » Fri May 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Other than an armoured waterproof case, a watershed is the only bag I would trust to keep a DSLR in.

BobbyR

Post by BobbyR » Fri May 05, 2017 9:39 pm

Watershed Ocoee with a padded camera bag insert. They are great bags. Well worth the money.

Yew

Post by Yew » Sat May 06, 2017 12:50 pm

Watershed for a bag, Peli for a case

ian johnston

Post by ian johnston » Sat May 06, 2017 6:01 pm

Hi CC,

We use the Aqua Zoom DSLR bag from Ortlieb. It's good......

https://seakayakphoto.blogspot.co.uk/20 ... m-bag.html

If you look at the header picture on Duglas' blog, he's surfing a Cetus under sail with £3K of camera gear in the Ortlieb bag on the foredeck. The Aqua Zoom has plastic eyes to which you can clip carabiners to attach it to the boat. I prefer to have the camera attached to the boat rather than me.....

Kind Regards

Ian

Maarten Z

Post by Maarten Z » Mon May 08, 2017 12:29 pm

I started off with the Ortlieb V-Shot but found it cumbersome to open & close whilst on the deck. Plus the teeth of the zipper would rotate when used in non-perfect conditions making it malfunction.