Sea Kayak paddle choice

Discuss equipment, technology, gadgets, repairs...
Nimajneb2005

Sea Kayak paddle choice

Post by Nimajneb2005 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:12 am

Hi guys and girls,

I'm just getting into sea kayaking now. Have a boat and plenty of white water kayaking and canoeing type of kit, as such I have been paddling mostly with my lovely fibreglass, cranked werner powerhouse. I was wondering what people's opinion was on paddle choice. As I'm getting better (and enjoying it) I was looking at getting some new kit. Would a different paddle have a dramatic effect on my performance? Should I get a split paddle I can adjust? What about winged paddles? I can't imagine trying to do a roll with one of them! Just trying to get a feel for the market before I buy the wrong thing or get taken for a fool in a paddle shop (or if it won't be that worth while at all).

Cheers.

PlymouthDamo

Re: Sea Kayak paddle choice

Post by PlymouthDamo » Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:37 pm

You'll see a definite performance improvement when you change to a more sea-oriented paddle, but only after you've put the hours in and developed the right stroke. Your options are a (longer, narrower) euro-blade, a wing (or a hybrid euro/wing which a friend raves about) or Greenland stick.

Like you, I started sea kayaking with my trusty Werner whitewater paddle, which was fine. I didn't do any research into better sea paddles - I just got bullied into going Greenland and after initially despising it, I now love it. My old whitewater paddle was right-handed, and obviously a Greenland stick is flat - but that hasn't made any difference other than making life more straightforward when rolling. I'm sure I'd have felt the same about any other sea-oriented paddle if I'd put the hours in - any longer paddle with a narrower blade will give you both low cadence and effort which is better on long runs.

Mac50L

Post by Mac50L » Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:39 pm