Newbie... transporting!

Discuss equipment, technology, gadgets, repairs...
pbb76

Newbie... transporting!

Post by pbb76 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 3:12 pm

Hi all,

Just got my first Kayak today (sit on).

I live right by the coast in Essex (Brightlingsea) and obvious temptation is to dive straight in... literally! But I think I should be sensible and try out in calmer conditions, so I'll be heading to some rivers etc first.

But my first problem, is transporting. I dont have a roof rack, so will obviously need one of those. Can anyone recommend something within a decent budget (certainly no more than £100) and what else I need to go along with a rack please? Do I need special brackets to put the kayak in, is it best to get ratchet straps (and which sort), what to use to tie the front/back down etc.

I'm an absolutely total novice at this sort of thing, so havent got a clue where to begin.

Thank you for any help!!

rockhopper

Re: Newbie... transporting!

Post by rockhopper » Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:41 pm

If it's a sit on top then the easiest way to carry it on a car is just upside down on a set of roof bars. Not much point tying it down bow and stern as i suspect it is not long enough to warrant that.
http://jenniferdawnsmith.com/how-to-str ... tep-plans/

I would avoid using rachet straps as they tend to over clamp things and you run the risk of distorting the shape of the boat. better off just using these sort of things:
https://www.escape-watersports.co.uk/eq ... -5m-detail
these ones are good as they have a rubber protector around the buckle to prevent it scratching your car. Don't forget to check what sort of length of strap you need.

Rog.

MikeB

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:04 pm

Get Halfords own brand square section bars, and the appropriate Thule foot / mounting kit.

pbb76

Post by pbb76 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:17 pm

MikeB wrote:Get Halfords own brand square section bars, and the appropriate Thule foot / mounting kit.
Thanks, will check that out!