New sleeping bag..

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
budgester

New sleeping bag..

Post by budgester » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:42 am

Well I've been camping for many years, mainly as a walker/hiker, however after paddling now for 4 years I'm finding my sleeping bag is becoming uncomfortable due to an increase in shoulder size.

It would seem I've put on 6" around the shoulders as none of my old suit jackets fit, they were a 36" but now anything I try on in a shop is a 42", ok I've put a few inches on around the belly as well since I passed my mid thirties as well, but we don't mention that.

So any recommendations for a sleeping bag when I don't have to have my arms wrapped round myself all night.

dwrgi

Re: New sleeping bag..

Post by dwrgi » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:17 pm

ASDA! They do a big bag for 18 quid! Not the warmest, but fine for two season in the uk i reckon.

jamesl2play

Post by jamesl2play » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:54 pm

I spent about an hour discussing this very same problem with a very nice lady from Needlesport in Kewsick a couple of weeks back. The solution we came up with was to see if I can have an extension sown into my Rab Down bag. Apparently these people might do it:
www.mountaineering-designs.co.uk tel 015395 36333

The other alternative as discussed with the guy at Fishers Keswick was a USA made sleeping bag by Big Agnes (never heard of then until now) The difference with theses bags is that you have to slip your thermorest into the envelope in the back of the bag.
This reduces the amount of actual bag there is allowing them to manufacture a bigger bag without increasing the weight. Looks good but I think I would like to try one before I part with cash.

If you solve the problem please let me know.

andyE

Post by andyE » Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:36 pm