Surf Kayak, Some Advice please

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
DoH!

Surf Kayak, Some Advice please

Post by DoH! »

I have been thinking about getting a proper surf kayak, but have a couple of questions.
1. How do you launch a surf kayak from a beach with out damaging the fins?
2. How difficult are surf kayaks to roll compared to a general purpose whitewater boat?
3. I weigh about 14stone 5 " which is about 90 kilo and 5ft 11 inches. how are the likes of mavericks and neutrons going to be for some one my size, demoing isn't going to be an option as I live in the NE of scotland and will probably go for 2nd hand any way.
I once bought a dragorossi squashtail without sitting in it (when I was just inside the suggested paddler weight for) and found that I hated the lotus sitting possition.

Daker

Re: Surf Kayak, Some Advice please

Post by Daker »

Im no expert as Ive only started to get into surfing in the last few months but here's my take -

1. Just launch from sand + you'll be fine.
2. Maybe slightly harder at 1st but if you have a reasonable roll you'll be fine (so long as you get the right boat for you)
3. Get something bigger to start with unless you want a steep and hard learning curve. Low volume boats excel on a wave but getting out through the white water or even just sitting out back in something too small will really test your abs and could put you off surfing completely.

Other more experienced surfers may disagree but Im only slightly lighter than you and thats what I found and know 2 blokes currently looking for different boats for that exact reason. So, learn the basics in something a bit more stable then downsize if need be once you know what you're doing and have learned how to survive out there !

Where in the NE are you as Id quite like to get up that way the next time theres a good swell forecast without too much wind ?

StoneWeasel

Post by StoneWeasel »