Xcape X^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
MikeB

Xcape X^

Post by MikeB » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:06 pm

Views and thoughts on the Xcape X ?

In particular, views on maximum load? As in, will it cope with 18st of paddler + my usual 50 to 60 lbs of gear?

Mike.

Helen M

Re: Xcape X

Post by Helen M » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:11 pm

Is losing weight an option?

H - x

MikeB

Post by MikeB » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:14 pm

Helen M wrote:Is losing weight an option?

H - x
No!

Helen M

Post by Helen M » Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:00 pm

Ahh - OK so gear stays then! lol

H - x

JohnGreenview

Post by JohnGreenview » Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:16 pm

Hi

I am no expert. I have an explore x (about 2 years old) and weigh about 16 stone (6'2"). I had it fully laden recently on a trip to Summer Isles. It performed beautifully. If anything it was more stable with a heavy load and moved through the admittedly idyllic seas elegantly and effortlessly. I am seriously considering carrying lead when it is empty to weigh it down. It was certainly not down at the sealine when fully laden and carrying me. I would think it could take another couple of stones with ease (ask tiderace).

I really like the cockpit. I find I have room to move with ease and don't get cramped. Having said that I don't feel I am slipping about all over the place. Can't roll yet (embarrassed to admit) but friend rolled it with ease.

My only complaint is a leaking front oval lid. Anyone got any suggestions other than renewing it?

I should say I have contacted Dan at Tiderace and he has been patient and helpful with a novice.

Jim

Post by Jim » Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:40 am

MikeB wrote: As in, will it cope with 18st of paddler + my usual 50 to 60 lbs of gear?
Lightweight!

(OK I do need to lose some, well lots of, weight)

I did look at the specs for the Xscape but didn't get round to trying one. If you want some alternatives to think about just ask, I can think of a couple of Rockpools worth looking at too.

swagstaff