Easy-lift versus roof bars for VW California^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Howlin Gael

Easy-lift versus roof bars for VW California^

Post by Howlin Gael » Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:17 pm

Hi, Im new to sea kayaking and looking for advice on how best to transport a sea kayak. I have a VW California campervan with an elevating roof. I am aware of the Karitek easy lift system, which sounds great but expensive, and the more basic and cheaper roof bars with J cradles. I have heard of problems with the easylift type racks causing the roofs to sag/collapse and can visualise the difficulty of lifting an 18' kayak onto more traditional roof bars in a strong wind with tired arms etc.
Does anyone have any specific advice/recomendations specific to the VW California before I spend my hard earned cash.

Cheers

Kev

Phil Hk

Re: Easy-lift versus roof bars for VW California

Post by Phil Hk » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:02 pm

I have a VW T5 with a lifting Reimo roof. Although I still have to lift boats on to roof I have used a system of a standard Thule roof rack using brackets that are designed for gutter mounting. Thule produce a well engineered gutter section part which can be bolted through the roof which I have reinforced with timber battens along its length so the bolts pick up more than fibrglass alone. This has 2 extra advantages...you can go for a higher bracket to increase roof clearance and you can mount a longer bar to maximise vehicle width

Phil

surfkayaks.com

Post by surfkayaks.com » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:24 pm

VW California , Circa £40k, and worried about cost of r/rack, come on!!!

Summit to Sea

Post by Summit to Sea » Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:50 pm

surfkayaks.com wrote:VW California , Circa £40k, and worried about cost of r/rack, come on!!!

Look after the pennies and the pounds look after themselves. Some of our customers who want to drive the hardest bargain are the ones driving the fanciest cars.

Happy Paddling!

Pete

dalriada