Flares- All I need to know!^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Paul Barrett

Flares- All I need to know!^

Post by Paul Barrett » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:38 am

On a big trip what flares should I carry ? How and when are the different types used ? Night and day, para-flares, orange smoke, hand held . I am a little confused. Where can i get instruction if i have never used one before ?

Any advice is well received
Paul

Yakdiver

Re: Flares- All I need to know!

Post by Yakdiver » Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:25 pm

I have a red MK 8 52900
orange MK 8 53920
day and night flare MK 8 55970
http://www.pwss.com/AllProduct.aspx
Name Richard
Point 65n Sea Cruiser
Ocean Prowler

Jim

Post by Jim » Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:21 pm

Firstly I will assume that flares are just one of your emergency communication systems, if not search for threads on VHF radio, EPIRB and also programme local coastguard station phone numbers into your mobile phone, you might be surprised how often it works around the coast.

All flares have pictorial instructions on the case so anybody should be able to use them. It is well worth looking at them before you need to use them though.

Broadly speaking there are 2 kinds of flare we are most interested in, some people are interested in 3.