What to wear?^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
beardiebloke

What to wear?^

Post by beardiebloke » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:01 pm

Hi! I'm a beginner who's booked a 4 day sea kayak course on the south coast in late November. Now it dawns on me that it might be just a little bit cold.

I'll be able to get back to a warm bed every night but the thought of wearing a wetsuit all day for four days doesn't really appeal (although I think that's what I'll probably end up doing). Aside from drysuits are there any good alternatives? Do two piece suits work well? I've seen comments about leaks which makes sense but how bad is it? If I were to go for a quick swim would I get soaked?

I'll ask the company for advice but thought I'ld try this forum too. Thanks!

Jim

Re: What to wear?

Post by Jim » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:10 pm

If you have neither, a full drysuit is cheaper than separates. And yes there will be some seepage around the waist joint of separates even though it overlaps, how much depends on how tight it is (too tight makes it difficult to breathe and relax in the boat) and how long you are immersed for.

Are you booked with a centre and do they have any kit you could hire?

Don't forget the over-suit is not the full story, you need base and mid layers underneath it, I'm always surprised how expensive that stuff seems to be (which is why most of mine comes from sales).

beardiebloke

Post by beardiebloke » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:26 pm

Jim wrote:If you have neither, a full drysuit is cheaper than separates. And yes there will be some seepage around the waist joint of separates even though it overlaps, how much depends on how tight it is (too tight makes it difficult to breathe and relax in the boat) and how long you are immersed for.

Are you booked with a centre and do they have any kit you could hire?
I'll ask them about what they can provide. I'm tempted to get a drysuit because I do dinghy sailing too so I'm sure I could find a use for it.