sea kayak regulations in Croatia

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
USexpat

sea kayak regulations in Croatia

Post by USexpat » Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:34 pm

I have been engaged by UNDP in Croatia to be a senior consultant on an adventure tourism development effort. The first area we are looking at is sea kayaking. Thus far I have produced draft versions of a skills certification system, (in line with international and particularly BCU standards). I have also produced draft versions of three separate regulations, classification of kayaks as sea faring vehicles, non-commercial regulations and regulations for operators. This has been an arduous experience thus far. To step back a moment, I should say that I am a former industry professional from the US, (I was a Rep for a now dis-reputed company - it wasn't when I was with them). I am also, or was, an ACA certified instructor for both whitewater and sea kayak. Now, back to the situation.... I have been experiencing problems throughout this process. The "project manager" simply does not understand the sector at all, and thinks that preparing all of this is worth about 10 days of work.... but that is another issue... The three regulations are where issue lay, or in particular, in the regs for non-commercial kayakers. The issue in particular is this; I have created a system in which three aspects are used to determine a "allowable range of travel". These aspect include, skills (50%), weather (30%), and equipment (20%). The system is not particularly complex, going like this;

Skills
• Novice kayakers receive 10 points
• Beginner kayakers receive 20 points
• Intermediate kayakers receive 30 points
• Advanced kayakers receive 40 points
• Expert kayakers receive 50 points
Conditions (assessed by existing conditions and forecasts for the stated period the kayaker intends to travel)
• Calm waters receive 30 points
• Medium waters receive 20 points
• High waters receive 10 points
Equipment
• Basic receives 5 points