Which VHF radio to buy?^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Joe.

Which VHF radio to buy?^

Post by Joe. » Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:45 pm

I'm thinking of buying a VHF radio for sea kayaking and was wondering if anyone has any advice regarding which to go for. I would like something that will last, be properly waterproof and easy to use, although I don't expect to use it much - mainly for emergency and listening out for weather forecasts.

I see there's a good review of the icom M-71 on this website, the icom M-33 looks good too, also submersible and floats, which I like the sound of, and is cheaper. I have also had a quick look at some Standard Horizon radios which are a bit cheaper but also appear to be good quality and waterproof. I have very little experience of using VHF radios - hence why I'm asking for advice, although I do have a licence.

Thanks,

Joe.

garya

Re: Which VHF radio to buy?

Post by garya » Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:53 pm

I went with the ICOM M-71 based on the huge battery life of over 15 hours I have been able to run mine for 4 days paddling without a charge by turning of when off the water and am really pleased with it. It seams a well built unit and is very easy to use with a 3 year warrenty

I chose battery life over the slight increase in size of the M-33 as making sure you can still communicate for as long as possible when in distress was important to me. The M71 floats fine in and aquapac with a thin bit of foam slipped in the back.

The other one I was looking at was this standard horizon HX851 but I understand that it has not had CE approval yet. I will certainly look at getting one when they become avaliable in the UK as a second set for the group. The GPS DSC is the best feature on it.

http://www.standardhorizon.com/indexVS. ... Archived=0

MartinW

Post by MartinW » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:21 pm