surf paddle preference?

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
AndyRieck

surf paddle preference?

Post by AndyRieck »

I have been making due with my playboat in the surf for a few years and I finally got a HDP Neutron. Now I want to get a new paddle because my kober control is starting to split. Thinking about getting a 194cm werner double diamond. curious to hear peoples advice on makes and length. I am 1.8 m

younggun

Post by younggun »

Double diamonds are great in the surf as they always float to the surface even in aerated water.
194 is very long for a surf paddle. A shorter paddle gives you more strokes per minute making it easier to catch a wave and less likely to get in the way or caught up whilst you are surfing.You do sacrifice a bit of power, although I have found a short paddle much better. I would look for a paddle between 180-185, although that is personal preference.

StoneWeasel

Post by StoneWeasel »

My preference is for fairly powerful blades on a medium length shaft. I Currently sue use a 188cm set of H20 Teams which I just got to replace my 188cm Waterstick Karmas.

I use a 188 as a bit of a compromise as I use one set of paddles for all my paddling, if I were buying a set just for surf I would probably go for 180 - 185.

This is a bit of a personal preference thing as some use tiny paddles (I think Chris Harvey's are around 175) and some use a bit longer (Steve Bowens I believe uses 191s) but generally speaking most seem to use paddles in the 180 - 190 region.

Hope that helps,

Denzil

AndyRieck

Post by AndyRieck »

Thanks for the tips. The only reason I might want to stay a bit longer is my paddling conditions. I surf the great lakes and I'm usually out on very windy days. I need all the power I can get when busting through sets that are very close together. You would'nt think it, but there can be some pretty big waves on lake Michigan with the right conditions!

corgimas

Post by corgimas »

my choice: