Beginner first boat in Maine: Explorer vs Rockpool Taran 16 vs Eto

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
Bmjnyc

Beginner first boat in Maine: Explorer vs Rockpool Taran 16 vs Eto

Post by Bmjnyc »

I am new to sea kayaking and planning on buying a new kayak in the coming months. I'm based in Maine and have access to both a NDK & Rockpool dealer.

I've spent this summer taking kayak courses and demoing boats and I'm hooked to the sport. I'm looking for a kayak that I would use for day paddles, as well as 2-4 day trips and possibly longer once I have the skills. My ultimate goal is to one day kayak the entire coast of Maine via the Maine Island trail solo.

So far I have extensively demoed the NDK Explorer and Latitude. Of the two the Explorer was the best fit. I also tried a Rockpool Alaw which also felt good and in many ways it was more comfortable than the Explorer. There is a new version of the Alaw called the Eto that I will be demoing next week along with the Taran 16. I sat in the Eto today and found it to be very comfertable. Until sitting in the Eto today I was pretty set on the Explorer. My concern with the Eto is thet there is not a lot of carrying capacity though I do tend to camp using lightweight gear.

While I have not demoed the the Taran yet from what I have read this seems like it could be a interesting option for me. However, my local Rockpool dealer who has been incredibly helpful suggests that the the new version of the Alaw Bach, The Eto, would be a better fit as I am a new to the sport. He thinks the Eto would offer less of a learning curve for me but also offer me a more versatile boat that I could grow into as my skills improve. He believes that this holds true for the Taran as well but explained to me that it would likley take me longer to feel comfortable in a Taran at my skill level.

I asked about the Rockpool GT but was told that I might be to lightwight for it, I'm 6'2, 175lbs, 34 inseam.