Pembrokeshire family kayaking?

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
turnpike

Pembrokeshire family kayaking?

Post by turnpike » Mon Jun 03, 2019 3:23 pm

Hi. I've been hiring tandem sit on tops in Pembrokeshire for a few years to just explore around near land in sheltered areas with my young kids. (5 and 8).

We now own a Gumotex Thaya (inflatable). Can anyone recommend sheltered areas for family kayaking and perhaps a good course/introduction so I know how to check conditions and learn where to avoid etc?

Unless I'm given some decent safe new places to explore and can learn how to avoid any danger for not strong swimmers, I'll stay close to shore in places like Dale/St Davids, Little Haven etc.

I've heard Stackpole Quay is good but again I need to gradually build confidence on what we can and can't do for our kayak and ability before trying new locations.

My brothers out on his boat quite a lot in the area, so I'll be talking to him too but any info and recommendations appreciated.

Cheers,
Carl.

pathbrae

Re: Pembrokeshire family kayaking?

Post by pathbrae » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:36 pm

I can't help with any local knowledge of your area but in general.... (and you've probably done most of this already)

Proper buoyancy aids for everyone and a couple of ways to call for help are good advice. Don't put a phone in a dry bag in the boat - keep it attached to you in case you end up in the water with the boat drifting away from you.
Have a bit of fun with the kids in shallow water near a beach, jumping out and climbing back in so they know they can do it - and do the same yourself
See if you can find some junior paddles for the kids as they'll struggle with a full size set.

I paddle an inflatable double with my wife from time to time and the "avoid offshore winds" mantra is probably a bit overstated. A half decent inflatable is worlds away from the £30 supermarket specials - which I would be wary of!