Good boat for surfing and short coastal days?

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
stuartpitches

Good boat for surfing and short coastal days?

Post by stuartpitches » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:20 pm

Looking for some advice on which boats might suit my needs.

I want a plastic boat for surfing and day trips around the local coast. I have a glass boat for longer or faster journeys. MY general understanding is that I want a boat with plenty of rocker so it's quick turning and better handling in the surf. I am 176cm and 73kg so a pretty average medium. I am not a beginner and experienced in the surf on other craft.

So want models do you think I should be on the look out for?

Thanks.

dhkayaking

Re: Good boat for surfing and short coastal days?

Post by dhkayaking » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:31 pm

Dagger Stratos is the way to go.

sunstreaker

Post by sunstreaker » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:11 pm

What about P&H Hammer?
Using Tapatalk

RickC

Post by RickC » Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:54 am

NDK Romany Surf RM - it's a single-layer plastic hull with GRP cockpit rim and seat, eliminates flexing in the areas where you brace. Lots of volume and plenty of rocker, fab in the surf and easy to turn in tight spots, designed for just the sort of activity you've described. Not to be confused with the boat they made at the end of the last decade which was triple layer and not anything like as good!

All the best, Rick

Irish Sea

Post by Irish Sea » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:19 am

I much liked the Valley Gemini SP I recently testpaddled for exactly that purpose. P&H Delphin or TR Vortex are other likely candidates.Nick Schade's Petrel Play in stitch and glue Plywood would be an interesting home built alternative. With a bit of extra weight you could make it pretty much bombproof and still be lighter than the RM boats. Alternatively the F1 Skin on Frame. I don't know though how well the skin stands up to rockhopping if that's your thing. Surf surely isn't an issue.

Alliecat