Hiring sea kayaks on Shetland

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
jonf

Hiring sea kayaks on Shetland

Post by jonf »

Hi Sea Kayak forumers,

I am a long time silent UKRGB member who was mostly active in the whitewater pages when I was a student. Recently I have been getting hooked on sea kayaking, and I was hoping to get some help from your collective wisdom.

I currently live on the continent and am without access to a car. Myself and two friends are looking to fly into Lerwick and hire some sea kayaks for a week of trips around Shetland. I did some internet research and couldn't find anywhere that it is possible to rent sea kayaks without also renting a guide. Can the forums confirm whether or not it is possible to rent just sea kayaks from somewhere on Shetland?

Thanks in advance,

Jon

MartinW

Re: Hiring sea kayaks on Shetland

Post by MartinW »

I don't know whether he rents out boats to independent paddlers, but I can heartily recommend Angus Nicol of Sea Kayak Shetland. I spent two highly memorable days paddling with him in Shetland at reasonable cost. If there are three of you then the cost of guiding, which includes all equipment, should work out very reasonable and you have the added benefit that he knows all the best spots and can match the trips to suit the prevailing conditions.
After the trips he also sent me loads of excellent photos of the two days which serve to cheer me up when I'm having a bad day at the office.
Rockpool Alaw Bach

Jim Tait

Post by Jim Tait »

Hi Jon,

Theres nowhere here to hire kayaks independantly I'm afraid and without a car, you''ll be severely limited in what you can do, unless you're planning a complete circumnavigation?
Would it be an option to join one of the guided trips up here? I know Glenmore Lodge have coe up in the past, and there are one or two other groups that come up as well. (sorry, that I can't be more specific than that)

Jim

lg18

Post by lg18 »