Venture Jura^

Places, technique, kayaks, safety, the sea...
gt900uk

Venture Jura^

Post by gt900uk » Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:30 pm

Hi all. Anyone got one or paddled one? As someone who as lived on the Argyll coast for many years I find my self with a hankering to get into sea kayaking. I was looking at this boat as it seems to be a good mix of features for a sensible price. I think a plastic boat would be best suited to the rocky coast line and would like something that could grow with me as my skills improve. Starting with days out and working up to multi day trips away. I have an old Pyranha Master 2 that I use on the local loch and sea on calm days so can paddle a bit but have no other skills. No clubs particularly nearby so no advice available from that avenue. Thoughts?

swagstaff

Re: Venture Jura

Post by swagstaff » Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:16 pm

yes. The one we have is now called the Jura HV and we will be getting the Jura MV in a week or two and there is a Jura LV due sometime.
The HV seems to work quite well for a range of sizes despite having a large cockpit and being 23 inches wide. It's available to demo when it's not out on courses or rentals. It has a very easy to adjust backrest and quite a comfortable seat. Eventually it will probably replace the Capella in the Venture kayaks range? Yes I d take it to Jura especially with the weather we are having at the moment. It's very manoeuvrable and the one we have has e skudder option . I haven't paddled it loaded yet though.
Yes it seems good value at the price.
WHITEWATER ALL YEAR LONG

gt900uk

Post by gt900uk » Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:56 pm

Thanks for the reply, yeah the HV MV is another debate :) I am about 80kgs so looking at the MV. As a total novice with kayaks I'm not sure demoing a boat would reveal much to me other than it fitting OK. Would you say it's a good boat to start out with? Are the stability levels suitable for a beginer hopefully moving to a more advanced level.

uxb