Which Kayak??

Riding the waves
Oldfella

Which Kayak??

Post by Oldfella » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:50 am

Hi
I am new to kayaking and I currently own a kayak that is about 10 foot long.
We have changed to a smaller car without roof bars and I am now unable to transport old kayak..
Iam thinking about buying a smaller kayak that I can transport in back of car with rearseats dropped down.rear door would have to up and tied down because some of kayak would be sticking out.

I wouldnt want to be doing white waters or anything drastic, just quiet rivers, canals and maybe the odd outing at the seaside.
I have looked at those short kayaks that are used for tricks and white water and they look pretty stable.

I am 6 foot and 14.5 stone.
Can anyone recommend a suitable small kayak for my size n weight.
Cheers

MikeVeal

Re: Which Kayak??

Post by MikeVeal » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:58 pm

I think the short boats you are referring to are playboats.

They do have a couple of drawbacks. Firstly, they are slow to paddle in a straight line. If you're thinking of daytripping, you'll tire more quickly in one of these and cover less miles in the process.

Secondly they are designed to do tricks. They are designed to be easy to get vertical. For want of a better description, playboats have edges designed to catch the flow and dive under the water. For a total newbie, this can be disconcerting, but you'll soon learn. On flat water with no current, you won't notice.

They are very sensitive to body position, leaning a little forwards or back will change the characteristics. They'll spin on a dime rather than drift in a straight line.

And lastly, they can be a tight fit, especially if you have large feet.

It will do what you want it to. But you should expect to have a steeper learning curve. Expect to be a bit more frustrated by the boat doing it's own thing for a short while. Persevere & you will master it and you will have learnt more in the process.