How big is too big?

Riding the waves
davebrads

How big is too big?

Post by davebrads »

I was out today at Widemouth, Magic Seaweed reckons it was 3-4 feet but I am sure it was bigger. I think I have been out in bigger surf, but it has not felt so powerful before. It was a real struggle getting out, and sometimes when I rolled under a breaking wave it still picked me up and chucked me about. Don't get me wrong it was exciting when I caught a wave, but the wipeouts were fierce and I soon got weary of being battered. More than once I nearly had my paddle ripped from my hands.

I am no expert, I usually only get to surf on my holidays, and sometimes I choose to do something else, but I'm no noob either.

Is there a point where the waves just get too big for surf kayaking?

Tomorrow's forecast on Magic Seaweed is 6-9 feet. I suspect I will be finding something else to do!
it's not a playboat, it's a river runner

Jim Tait

Re: How big is too big?

Post by Jim Tait »

There's pictures and video of the good folk in huge conditions........ going back to the video of the worlds at Thurso. It all depends on the size of your cojones.....
I start to get twitchy at 4-5 ft. Once it gets bigger, its a serious battle with that little bit that asks "do you really want to do this......"

I've been working on it for what seems like ages..... I'm slowly getting comfy in bigger stuff, but I tend to paddle on my own, so I'm very conservative in what I go out in
Once I stop enjoying it, I soon head in

Jim

davebrads

Post by davebrads »

I found some video of the 1991 worlds at Thurso. Pretty big, and some classic boats. I also found this video of Chris Hobson on some big waves, a bit bigger than my session at Widemouth but he is younger and fitter and with way more skills than me and he was still having trouble.

Jim Tait

Post by Jim Tait »

I wouldn't be anywhere near the water on a day like that!!