Helmet Cams advice

Inland paddling
JRiz

Helmet Cams advice

Post by JRiz » Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:26 pm

Hi guys and gals, I'm a complete novice when it comes to what's best with any form of camera equipment but I'm wanting to get myself a helmet cam now that I'm becoming a more active paddler.

What's one of the best cameras for the lowest cost? I know GoPro seems to be a favourite, I just want a bit more information and if there are any out there that meet my very selective tastes.

In short, looking for one that is low profile, at least 720p, battery life of ~5 hours, a large or upgradable memory, preferably around £200 and attaches securely for the many, many times I'll need to be rolling.

Any advice or reviews?

Ta,

Josh

dhkayaking

Re: Helmet Cams advice

Post by dhkayaking » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:44 pm

Go Pro ticks all the boxes!

Tom_Laws

Post by Tom_Laws » Wed Oct 10, 2012 2:47 pm

It's gotta be the GoPro HD Hero 2.

I've heard a lot of hype about the new Sony offering but yet to see or have a play with one.

T

Finchy

Post by Finchy » Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:58 pm

Sorry to hyjack the thread a little but I have a go pro on the way.

What method to people use to fix the camera to their helmets?

Are the sticky pads strong enough?

dhkayaking

Post by dhkayaking » Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:12 pm

Yes the sticky pads are super strong.

JRiz

Post by JRiz » Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:05 pm

It appears that GoPro is the way to go, I see a lot of people attach them to the top of their helmets - I've been considering attaching one to just above the visor instead as I feel that having it on top would cause problems with rolling/get it hit or caught in things.

Where do people attach theirs and do you have these sorts of problems with your chosen location?

Bryn_420

Post by Bryn_420 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:52 pm

Finchy wrote:Sorry to hyjack the thread a little but I have a go pro on the way.