Planning A Trip Abroad

Inland paddling
Ieuan Belshaw

Planning A Trip Abroad

Post by Ieuan Belshaw » Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:32 pm

Planning A Trip Abroad.

What things do we need to plan a long trip? (as I have no experience of one and this post might be useful to others on here).

Flights which take boats? + luggage weight?
Travel Insurance/kayaking insurance?/on & off the river? Does anyone know of good insurance companies for these?
Visa's?
Phone?
Vaccines?

Thanks in advance!
Ieuan :)

purelandexpeditions.com

Re: Planning A Trip Abroad

Post by purelandexpeditions.com » Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:39 pm

Where are you going? this will answer the flight question/visa/phone and vaccine situation. Most cell phones work outside the UK, you can get pay as you go in some places with ease. Sat phone can be hired (we have them) as too can SPOTs or similar if needed.

Insurance has been discussed online for some time, snowcard, BMC etc

D
Raft Kayak Trek Explore
purelandexpeditions.com

Poke

Post by Poke » Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:42 pm

The last two issues of CKUK have had a two part article on exactly that...
Written by my broken wee brother.
Uniyaker - Uni expeditions
Team Pyranha - My adventures

Ieuan Belshaw

Post by Ieuan Belshaw » Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:10 pm

Cheers for the call Daz, big help.

Poke, I'll go find them & have a read.

Cheers!
Ieuan :)

clarky999

Post by clarky999 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:44 pm

Loads of airlines fly boats, Easyjet are really good with them form experience though. Visas depend on where you're going - Not needed for Europe obv, Turkey you pay £10 or so on entry to the country. BMC and Dogtag are good for insurance. Phone should work in most places, although obviously potentially expensive. in Austria, and presumably the rest of Europe, it's easy to get a cheapo local PAYG simcard.

lofty276

Post by lofty276 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:51 pm

Hey Ieuan,