Do we really need to wear helmets?

Inland paddling
Oli Sharp

Do we really need to wear helmets?

Post by Oli Sharp » Sat Dec 06, 2008 5:58 am

Hi there guys,

I have been kayaking for about 3 years now and I have NEVER hit my head. So about 6 months ago I stopped wearing my helmet. I found it may have even improved my paddling as my spacial awareness seems better on the water.

I've been in Nepal paddling some of the rivers round Pokhara like the Modi khola and bumped into some UK boaters who kicked up a fuss about my choice, one of them even refused to go paddling with me! He was a bit obnoxious, but it got me thinking...

Is this what the normal reaction would be in the UK?

I personally don't see the problem with it.

Thoughts?

Oli

Croft

Post by Croft » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:32 am

Maybe this is a wind-up? If so congratulations you got a bite.

Think you've just been lucky - most paddlers bang their helmeted heads every now and then - OK not often but once is enough.

Do you expect your paddling companions to risk their lives coming after you when you are knocked unconscious?

Glyn B

Post by Glyn B » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:39 am

Yes

DaveWortley

Post by DaveWortley » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:41 am

I destroyed a helmet, it saved my life, it was on a grade 3+ river, Don't be an idiot, head injuries are not worth the risk. You take a big hit without a helmet and it'll affect the lives of your loves ones and friends in a horrible way. They'll be looking after you for the rest of your life, people will have to give up jobs.

Not worth the risk.

Always wear a helmet. 'Nough Said.

k.shark

Post by k.shark » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:45 am

I wasn't even going to answer this but if you go around and ask lot's of paddler's to see there helmet's you will get answer or worse .if you decide to go for helmet your size will be deah kcid . (wise up)

George Mcmillan

Post by George Mcmillan » Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:05 am

This is a wind up for sure.