Composite(?) slalom kayak repair questions

Inland paddling
nopeda

Composite(?) slalom kayak repair questions

Post by nopeda » Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:34 pm

Hi,

I have an old slalom kayak, written on it is: Peak Concept Sandwich Technology Airex and a sticker on it says: World Cup Final Ocoee '93. So I'm guessing it's some sort of composite and at least 25 years old. I'm just using it paddling around on a flat lake but would like to be able to put it in some whitewater. Just paddling in the lake after about 30 minutes it has about 3/4 inch of water in it. I can't tell exactly which cracks are leaking and which are not, so am thinking about putting one sheet of fiberglass or maybe kevlar(?) on the bottom and then using West Systems 105 resin and 206 slow hardener. Is that as good as any way to solve the problem? I've never done it before but looking at some Youtube vids it doesn't seem too hard. If anyone can suggest any good tuturorials it would be much appreciated. The can says one part hardener to five parts resin. It weighs next to nothing and I don't want to change that, but the leaky business is a bit much. Should a 32 oz can of resin and 7 oz can of hardener be enough to do the job, or hopefully more than enough?

Thank you for any help learning about this!
David
GA, USA

Chris Bolton

Re: Composite(?) slalom kayak repair questions

Post by Chris Bolton » Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:10 pm

The Airex Sandwich means it has a layer of foam between two skins of composite (probably kevlar). This is a method used for serious international events as it produces a very stiff and light boat, but with less resistance to impact, ie, it's built to be brilliant for that one event but may crack afterwards. When it does crack, water gets into the foam - I'm not sure how bad that is.