Breathable or non breathable dry suit for beginner

Inland paddling

Breathable or non breathable dry suit for beginner

Post by Jimmyd » Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:03 pm

Hi Folks
I'm relatively new to Kayaking, when I say new, I've been kayaking for about 2 yrs, rivers , lochs and a tiny bit of sea, I mainly go out on rivers with the local club as I don't feel 100% confident yet on moving water, (part of the thrill) the thing is I'm looking to buy my first Dry suit, now most experienced members in the club have breathable, however most new members seem to be going for non breathable, because they are more robust and giving that I can't roll yet. I will tend to spend a lot more time wet exiting and swimming. However I'm not too concerned about rolling, my main ambition at the moment is to stay out the water, I do have a caravan and go out with the Mrs. on calm Lochs as well in the better weather.( I don't want to sweat either)However I have been told , if the suit is wet it's not breathable. Question is am I better with a breathable drysuit or Non breathable, I do like rivers but much prefer Lochs and canals, ( calm water) the bonus of being in a river it's not too far to get to the shore as the Lochs etc. and Sea I maybe in the water for a longer paddle to get to the shore. What's your opinions on a dry suit for a beginner. I had my eye on Immersion Research or Dam x. I know the non breathable is more uncomfortable. but is Breathable as durable for a beginner or am I likely to damage it in a river etc.?

Chris Bolton

Re: Breathable or non breathable dry suit for beginner

Post by Chris Bolton » Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:14 pm