What clothing do I need?

Inland paddling
geomickb

What clothing do I need?

Post by geomickb » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:53 pm

Hi,

I have been canoeing this year and want to so some kayaking over the winter.

What should I be wearing? I am new to WW so am expecting a lot of swimming.

I have been wearing a thin swimming wetsuit (2mm) with a Goretex jacket over the top but I am thinking it will be too cold for this and it isn't really comfortable.

I don't really want to spend a fortune because I am expecting to buy a kayak when I have decided that I like and know what I want.

I am also expecting to do some sea kayaking.

I am sure that everyone will have differing opinions but I am just looking for some ideas.

Mick

Chalky723

Re: What clothing do I need?

Post by Chalky723 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:10 pm

Your 2 main choices are wetsuit or drysuit....

Wetsuit will be colder & more restrictive movement wise.

You can pick up pretty cheap drysuits - my first one was a sailing drysuit that I got for £70 on Ebay & it transformed the hobby for me - swims became an inconvenience rather than ruining the paddle. You can wear as many or as few layers under one as circumstances require.

If you then decide it's not for you, the resale value won't have dropped much....

D
Jackson Nirvana, BMW F650GS...

Mark Gawler
Site Admin

Post by Mark Gawler » Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:12 pm

Dry suite all the way, it will completely transform the swim experience for you.
Mark Gawler

Colin C

Post by Colin C » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:22 pm