Inland Paddling in Northern Ireland

Inland paddling
Ulsterman81

Inland Paddling in Northern Ireland

Post by Ulsterman81 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:28 pm

Hi all.

I'm very new to kayaking but I've already enjoyed a few outings on the River Stour in Suffolk and some paddling off the Essex coast after purchasing an Ocean Kayak Scrambler 11 while visiting family over there.

Now I've returned home to Northern Ireland and I want to continue exploring the many rivers here. While www.canoeni.com offers some information on a few canoe trails on larger rivers and lakes, it offers no information on smaller rivers which I'm feeling a real need to explore. I've been unable to find any information on here re Northern Ireland's waterways while there is much with regard to the rest of the UK. Are there any NI contributors to this forum? If so, have any of you attempted paddling the Foyle, Strule or Colebrooke Rivers for example? To what extent are such rivers navigable using a sit on kayak?

Any help, information or advice would be appreciated.

Mal Grey

Re: Inland Paddling in Northern Ireland

Post by Mal Grey » Mon Sep 18, 2017 9:22 pm

If you get little joy on here, there is a bit more of a Northern Ireland contingent over on Song of the Paddle, and they won't mind that you're not paddling an open canoe.

The community over there is small but thriving, and I went to the Ulster Canoe Festival last weekend, my first visit over there. This was based on the Lower Bann, I also paddled briefly on the 6-Mile Water. The main thing to be concerned about over there is weirs, they seem to be a regular feature of the rivers, and form most of the interest, and the danger.

Also look on Paddle Points for ideas: http://www.paddlepoints.net/paddlepoint ... ion=sussex Its not extensive yet, but growing as people add stuff.

spynappels

Post by spynappels » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:29 am