3 Day Kayak Adventure Advice Needed

Inland paddling
Samoutdoorman

3 Day Kayak Adventure Advice Needed

Post by Samoutdoorman » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:13 pm

Hi,

I am very new to kayaking but really enjoy the time I have spent so far in the water. Me and my friend who is more experienced are looking at kayaking the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/River_Ure from its source onto the ouse and into York (my home town). I will be using one of his kayaks as he has many however I am not sure that he has any gear for me other than a life jacket a kayak and a spray deck. As we will be going for a number of days we plan to bivy along the side of the river however i am unsure as of what in terms of clothing and accessories I may need ( do i need a dry top or any other items)

We plan not not to kayak Asygarth falls.

Many Thanks a fresh and excited kayaker.

Kayak_ben

Re: 3 Day Kayak Adventure Advice Needed (NEW)

Post by Kayak_ben » Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:38 pm

For me layers are key, a decent cag/waterproof jacket,

Baselayers so that if the weather turns you can add or remove layers as needed.

A few spare changes of clothes and easy drying such as neoprene or swim shorts so that if you have a swim you don't have to spend the 3 days soaking wet.

I assume your mate will have all relevant safety gear for you to use such as throw line etc.

What kayaks are you using, if a larger touring you will have plenty space for clothing etc but may have to pack clever if using a smaller river runner/play boat

banzer

Re: 3 Day Kayak Adventure Advice Needed (NEW)

Post by banzer » Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:12 pm

Some lads did this a few years ago: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=87135&p=635959&hili ... ea#p635959 . Jason who wrote this is sadly no longer with us, greatly missed on the Yorkshire scene.