New paddlers need advice please

Inland paddling
ollyscunningstunts

New paddlers need advice please

Post by ollyscunningstunts » Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:52 pm

Hi everyone,

Me and my girlfriend would like to take up kayaking. I have done a bit growing up, I can paddle in a straight line and am comfortable on a little bit of white water. My girlfriend is a complete novice. We would like to set ourselves up fairly cheaply, we need kayaks, paddles, spray decks, wet suits, helmets and buoyancy aids.

I was wondering where the best place to find this sort of stuff would be? We'd like to spend as little as possible to get started.

feedbackproblem

Re: New paddlers need advice please

Post by feedbackproblem » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:07 pm

A local club would be a good place to start. You might need to invest in a wetsuit (opt for a Long John or a set of strides - legs only) and a waterproof top but most whitewater clubs would probably have all the other kit you need so you avoid the big outlay and you get to experiment with different types of boats to find out what suits you.

Membership prices vary from club to club but one of the ones I paddle with would cover you both with an £80 family membership which would include coaching, trips, access to changing rooms/showers and kit hire (boat, paddle, spray deck, cag, helmet & BA) for the year and you'd be able to try a wide range of boats from play boats to creekers and slalom to open boats etc. Considering that fairly basic whitewater BA's start around the £70 mark, joining a club and borrowing their kit is probably the best value for money and if you decide that you're going to continue paddling then you can spread out your gear purchases without having to buy everything at once.

neonbowhawk

Post by neonbowhawk » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:16 pm