Bow/draw strokes

Inland paddling
PolecatApollo

Bow/draw strokes

Post by PolecatApollo » Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:51 pm

Is there any good videos on carving, bow draws or draw stokes for whitewater situations? Or even just good written advice? Were just moving on to buying dedicated WW kayaks (Crossovers prior) and these vertical 'carving strokes' have never seemed to do much. I hope to understand it once we have our shorter boats. I see it in peoples kayaking montages but never seems to do much while paddling. The times a draw stroke (at least what I think a draw stroke is) works for me, I 'm left turning in the same direction even after I turn the sweep into forward a momentum stroke, then I'm left trying to get the thing straight again. So we still rely on turn kayak, then paddle forward, hard to progress with this.

Me and my friend have been paddling for a year and half. We are self taught through experience and YT videos.

I know a club or official training course would benefit us, but locally that means a long time in a swimming pool (Meh) or a lot of cash (less boats and dry suits). We are looking to do a SWT course anyway, this also questions the fact we paddle as a pair, rescues are obviously better in bigger numbers.

We are seeking out continues grade 3 and can roll 9/10 times in an eddy situation (heat of the moment rolls are still a little sloppy due to head lifting)

Mark Dixon

Re: Bow/draw strokes

Post by Mark Dixon » Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:04 am

I dont know any technical videos but when I had a Mamba it wandered all the time and I relied heavily on Bow draw strokes going down rapids, I think this was more of a transition of my paddling not being good enough but I dont think its something thats good practice as I was always getting told off for it. I changed it, improved as a paddler and now look for forward paddling, the only time I try to use a bow draw is in an eddy.
PLF then you wont need it

TechnoEngineer