Women's drysuits: Literally, taking the p***

Inland paddling
bloodystarving

Women's drysuits: Literally, taking the p***

Post by bloodystarving » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:38 pm

I'm a newbie I admit, but am I going mad, or are there really only three "reasonably" *cough* priced women's drysuits on the market that you don't have to suffer the indignity of a she-wee for?

I can see Gul Taw (£329), Gul Zero (£399.95) and Palm Element (£425) on Wetsuit Outlet, and although I'm sure I can find them a few quid less somewhere else if I look hard enough, that's not the point of my rant - it's the fact that there doesn't seem to be any other choices. On the same website, there are around 20 men's drysuits for under £300!!

If I had to pick one (and I'm not going though another winter in my secondhand leaky strip-off-behind-a-tree men's Typhoon), I've heard that Gul are ropey (although I like the look of the Gul Taw most out of the three), and that the Palm one is the best. I do like the Palm one, it's nice and bright and cheerful. However, for a beginner, it's also the apotheosis of All The Gear No Idea - they're brighter than the sun, and as a beginner, I'm mostly trying to hide from people - difficult if you resemble a stumbling Buzz Lightyear.
If anyone has any advice or recommendations, I would very, very much like to hear them.

And if any kayaking clothing reps are reading this - surely to goodness there are enough women kayaking for someone to actually start taking advantage of this particular gaping hole in the market??

mountain_bikerider

Re: Women's drysuits: Literally, taking the p***

Post by mountain_bikerider » Fri Jul 10, 2015 7:07 pm

Buy the palm one you won't be disappointed. My wife has had a palm suit for a year now and absolutely loves it. Buy the IR ladies drop seat onesie to wear underneath (its cheaper than the palm one) and it will make for a much much happier paddling experience.