Cutting weight from Mamba 8.1

Inland paddling
minty

Cutting weight from Mamba 8.1

Post by minty »

Hi, I have a Mamba 8.1 ergo creek outfitting. Manufacturer specs reckon this weighs in at 21kg but it always feels heavy so I weighed it the other day and it is about 100g from 24kg (23.9kg on my digital scales)

Anyhow has anyone gone about reducing the weight of theirs? I am thinking of changing the footplate assembly to something simpler, maybe drilling some holes in the seat base with a hole saw, removing the oddment tray which I don't really use etc

Obviously I am not wanting to reduce the strength of components just lighten them a bit and I am sure it is probably over engineered.

Any positive thoughts welcome?

Cheers, Alick
Ambition and ability I've got too much of one and very little of the other

banzer

Re: Cutting weight from Mamba 8.1

Post by banzer »

I can't help you with weight loss (!), but I would be pretty p***ed off if my new boat was nearly 3kg more than stated. Trade Description? Personally weight of boat is a major factor for walk-ins, so I need to know manufacturers are being honest...
A. Boater wrote:It's all Pierre's fault
www.neviscanoes.co.uk

SPL

Post by SPL »

Don't drill any holes, it will make no considerable difference to the weight and only reduce the boats strength and resale value.
I think your options are to either put up with it or sell it, its just the way dagger boats are, well made or over engineered depends on whose carrying it I suppose.
Regarding the advertised weight I imagine they advertised the weight of the smallest size boat.

Hakase

Post by Hakase »

SPL wrote:Don't drill any holes, it will make no considerable difference to the weight and only reduce the boats strength and resale value.
I think your options are to either put up with it or sell it, its just the way dagger boats are, well made or over engineered depends on whose carrying it I suppose.