38 - too old to start working in outdoor pursuits?

Inland paddling
no-no

38 - too old to start working in outdoor pursuits?

Post by no-no » Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:59 pm

I've always wanted to work in outdoor pursuits, life got in teh way though and i ended up in a pretty good but ultimately boring job.

Now my son is about to start an instructors course in a couple of years, my midlife crisis is in full effect. I'm so jealous.
I've found a course near me I'm sure I could get on but I'm full of fear. WHat wages can I expect? Is there much work available? I have two smaller kids too so would there be much work locally? I'm in the south west.

ANyone made this choice already? How did it pan out?

tbh, even if the answers to the above aren't encouraging it'd be nice to just do what I like for a year or two.

SimonMW

Re: 38 - too old to start working in outdoor pursuits?

Post by SimonMW » Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:14 pm

I have no experience whatsoever. However I don't see why you couldn't as you as you were fit and willing. I would have thought someone with a bit of life experience and level headedness would be an advantage.

Not sure if there is any money in it though unless you run a French ski resort! Nothing is stopping you going for coaching qualifications though and freelancing. Be careful of what you wish for however. I have come across a fair few who have gone into outdoor sports as work, from outdoors instruction and leading through to working in shops. Some of them have found that it has ruined their hobby, while others have found that they simply have no time to get their own practice/fun in their favourite outdoor sport.

Yellow boat

Post by Yellow boat » Mon Jun 30, 2014 8:58 pm