SimonMW

Food for thought for GoPro helmet users

Post by SimonMW » Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:33 am

For those who wear a helmet camera...
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/motors ... uries.html

Teaman

Re: Food for thought for GoPro helmet users

Post by Teaman » Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:09 pm

Experts have conducted tests to see weather the presence of a solid object between his helmet and the rock would have caused the helmet to break.. the camera was undamaged btw.
Now I'm no scientist but I'm guessing a rock is a fairly solid object and twatting one of them at 20+ miles an hour with a helmet with the added weight of one person (and a possible tonne of ego)is gonna cause damage.

SimonMW

Post by SimonMW » Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:32 pm

Yes, the camera was undamaged. GoPro's usually aren't damaged since the case takes the impact! Notice that they didn't say that the case was undamaged...

They are testing this for the possibility so your no scientist comment is rather a moot point until the tests are complete. However I will say that it is fairly logical that a camera mount if hit would focus the impact into one small area. It is something I have always wondered about when people have cameras on their helmets and it is interesting that those experts have asked the same question.

I think I'll wait for their conclusions over your advice thanks.

Poke

Post by Poke » Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:30 pm

Now I can imagine that if you’re really unlucky, catching the go-pro on a tree/rock/similar as you skied/kayaked/fell past could result in whiplash (or worse) if the mount didn’t break. Possibly even that the adhesives may have weakened the helmet?

However, I can’t imagine they’re going to find anything of concern when it comes to the effect of the presence of a camera on the impact to a helmet.
The go-pro mounts are at least 6cm² in area. At worst case, a rock could be a point force. The rock hitting the camera mount could spread the load if anything.