FAO WSP. Will Windermere be 11 degrees celsius by mid June?

Inland paddling
AlexC

FAO WSP. Will Windermere be 11 degrees celsius by mid June?

Post by AlexC » Mon May 13, 2013 9:53 pm

I've entered the Great North Swim (yes I know) in Windermere in mid June.
As far as I know it doesn't run unless the water is above 11 celsius.
Lock 9 at Salford Quays was 6.5 c until a couple of weeks ago and I'm deeply sceptical about whether Windermere will reach the required temperature by 15 June. I can't imagine the rivers running into it are much above 8c.

I was planning to buy a swimming wetsuit specially for the event (yes I know) but don't want to waste the money if the event is not going ahead. I also planned to do a bit of training beforehand outside, but am not sure I can stand the cold (yes I know).

What's the consensus on how far a complete noob can last at 9c?

cheers

And before Mark chirps up with how I seemed fine swimming on the Astre for well over half a kilometre in only a cag and shorts.... That wasn't intentional and won't be repeated.

Wildswimmer Pete

Re: FAO WSP. Will Windermere be 11 degrees celsius by mid J

Post by Wildswimmer Pete » Mon May 13, 2013 10:44 pm

AlexC wrote: What's the consensus on how far a complete noob can last at 9c?

cheers
Not very far, 9C is winter swimming territory. You'd risk potentially dangerous cold shock as well as hypothermia - bear in mind that bare-skin winter swimmers are physiologically adapted. If swimming in water at 11C you'll need a 5mm "steamer" wetsuit. 15C is the lowest temp. which is reckoned to be safe for non-cold acclimatised swimmers wearing just Speedos.