Paddle Help for a New Member to suit Pyranha H3

From the Warwickshire Avon in the south, to the Trent in the north
maxhouston

Paddle Help for a New Member to suit Pyranha H3

Post by maxhouston » Thu May 26, 2011 11:02 pm

Hello, Im pretty new to Kayaking, Ive had a Perception Pirouette for about 3 yrs but only really tackled the Trent & canal's. After Tuesday when i kayaked Nottingham to Newark, ive probably clocked 48 hrs of paddle time.

Im looking to join a club and get my bcu and tackle some white water.

I have a Pyranna H3 245, im 5ft 10" and am now looking for a suitable paddle to help me on my way.

(oh and a deck too)

Id be greatful for any advice and recco's on a paddle, budget is an issue so nothing ott. Im in Long Eaton & if anyone fancies a paddle feel free to get in touch.

Thanks

Matt

jonny----5

Re: Paddle Help for a New Member to suit Pyranha H3

Post by jonny----5 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:19 pm

hey mat,

there are a few clubs in notts and around your area,you also have the national whitewater centre in notts but from memory you have to be a 3* to use it but i think you can pay for some coaching at the centre to get you up to speed...paddle wise just go for a cheap carbon straight shaft to start with mate it will last you ages while you get some time on the river and take a good hammering...you should be able to get a cheap deck and paddle from one of the shops in notts or there is also a shop by the white water centre.
happy paddling !

Mark Thompson

Post by Mark Thompson » Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:49 pm

You should see if you can try a few and then you can buy both what you like and the best you can afford. I would look in the comunity sales section of this site for a good deal. I started off with fiber glass shafted paddles. If you can afford buy kevlar they are stronger, but glass are also a good paddle. Aluminum are the cheapest and cold to use in winter also much heaver than the other two and commonally bend.