Overnight trip on the Wye

One blade only
flashollie

Overnight trip on the Wye

Post by flashollie » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:38 am

Hi All

I usually frequent the whitewater forum as I've been kayaking for many years but I'm looking for advice on the one blade style for a more sedate trip to get the kids interested.
I'd like to take my family and the in laws on an overnight trip on the Wye in Mid June. 4 adults and 3 kids 10 to 12 years.

I'm after recommendations for a 2 day trip with start and finish points, a hire company and a campsite for one night as I understand there's a couple that are not so nice. We have all our own camping kit it's just boats and paddling gear and a shuttle we are after.

Many thanks

Marcus

arguer

Re: Overnight trip on the Wye

Post by arguer » Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:00 pm

Youth Hostel at Welsh Bicknor is a good overnight stop for a slow 2 day trip from Ross to Monmouth. They have a campsite too but obvouisly you have to then carry tents and equipment etc. Much easier and more comfortable to get a room, they also do food.

We've used Ross on Wye canoe hire (based in Symonds Yat West) before and they include boats, kit, waterproof barrels and a shuttle to and from start and finish.

flashollie

Post by flashollie » Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:45 am

Thanks for this. I think the kids have their hearts set on on camping......I'll check out the YH at Welsh Bicknor.

Would Ross to Monmouth take in the best of the scenery?

seanyshortlegs

Post by seanyshortlegs » Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:50 pm

Hi
I dont like the fact that you cant apparrently pm people any longer so please email me at (email deleted). I can help you with this

flashollie

Post by flashollie » Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:47 pm

Thanks. Email sent.

seanyshortlegs

Post by seanyshortlegs » Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:35 pm

Nothing received in hotmail?

flashollie

Post by flashollie » Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:31 pm

That's odd. Can you confirm email address as I have sent it to what's written above?